A Power in Sharing

NICE NICE NICE

Before the Downbeat

Quill pen

“One ought, every day at least, to hear a little song, read a good poem, see a fine picture, and, if it were possible, to speak a few reasonable words.” – Goethe

I’m emerging form the pit for a couple of weeks, having just completed a successful run of Prokofiev’s Cinderella with the Utah Ballet and Utah Philharmonia. Besides this, I’m also concluding 25 days of sharing poetry through social media. The idea came from a desire to share words that have inspired and focused me throughout my life. Certainly, I’ve read more that 25 poems, but these seem to stay with me, or touch me particularly today. As something I know, I shared these words because they have personal meaning.

Rather than just a good practice to develop, I contend the urge to share is a primal human quality, the reason our species has survived. It is required for…

View original post 3,009 more words

2 thoughts on “A Power in Sharing

    • It’s no problem at all! Your blog automatically caught my attention when I noticed you were not only an orchestral conductor, but an instrumentalist, and — at least I believe it said, my memory isn’t the best — a choral conductor!
      I am curently a violinist and choral student, and let me just tell you your blog has already been an incredible inspiration to me. I am extremely impressed with everything you’ve accomplished thus far (along with maintaining a pretty informative and navigable blog, I might add!) Though I am probably one of the most rudimentary performers you will have met in quite some time, I would love to meet you some day!
      You have no idea what an impact your blog has already made on me. Thank you so much for – well – doing what I hope you love!
      xx Cat

      Like

Leave a Reply

